Health outcomes and cultural authority make wellness a category where Black-founded brands and practitioners hold trust that large operators cannot buy.
| Company | Operations | Ticker | Amount · fiscal YTD | Black ownership | Tie |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Files its own numbers Black-owned and Black-founded companies standing on their own figures. Private ones file nothing public. | |||||
Founded by Naj Austin; wellness and community platform | Membership Somewhere Good Wellness programming Ethel's Club company site | private not listed | private — not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-owned |
Independent Black-owned fitness studio group | Studio classes Digital training Trap Fitness company site | private not listed | private — not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-owned |
Reports through a parent Brands inside a listed group. The amount is the parent's filing — parents do not break these brands out. | |||||
Founded by Beatrice Dixon; acquired by Compass Diversified in 2024 | Feminine wash Menstrual care Consumer health Sexual wellness Atlanta Journal-Constitution on the acquisition | CODI — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-founded |
Founded by Tristan Walker; wholly owned by P&G since 2018 | Bevel grooming Form hair care P&G acquisition announcement | PG — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-founded |
Founded by Richelieu Dennis; acquired by Unilever in 2017 | SheaMoisture Nubian Heritage Madam C.J. Walker Beauty Culture Next Black Millionaire Fund Unilever brand and programme pages | UL — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-founded |
Black founder incubation, 15% pledge LVMH · consolidated into Selective Retailing | — | MC.PA — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
BIPOC founder programme Ulta Beauty · consolidated into Retail | — | ULTA — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black-owned wellness assortment CVS Health · consolidated into Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness | — | CVS — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black-owned beauty and wellness lines Walgreens Boots Alliance · consolidated into US Retail Pharmacy | — | WBA — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black instructors and content series Peloton Interactive · consolidated into Subscription | — | PTON — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Ambassador and capsule programmes lululemon athletica · consolidated into Americas | — | LULU — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black trainer and community programmes NIKE, Inc. · consolidated into Nike Brand | — | NKE — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black franchise ownership growth Planet Fitness · consolidated into Franchise | — | PLNT — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black athlete endorsement roster PepsiCo · consolidated into PepsiCo Beverages | — | PEP — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Black-owned wellness brand shelf Target · consolidated into Merchandising | — | TGT — | not filed | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Partnership |
Independent Lanny Smith; performance apparel Independent · no listed parent | — | private no listed parent | no public filing | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-owned |
Independent Shontay Lundy; national retail distribution Independent · no listed parent | — | private no listed parent | no public filing | not disclosed No ownership percentage published Not disclosed | Black-owned |
Figures are limited to public filings, live market data and revenue published by a named source. A Black ownership percentage is shown only where a company, a filing or a certifying body has published one; everything else reads "not disclosed" rather than being estimated. Private companies file nothing public, so they carry no amount. Prices and filings are read live from a public market feed. Listed companies link out to their market reference page; every other name opens a details window. Every figure here is in US dollars; a company trading or filing in another currency is converted at the live exchange rate and marked with an asterisk.
The Urban Magnate™ · figures are read from public filings and named public sources.